Beyond The Benches

NHL Names Vezina Trophy Finalists

It’s official the list of Vezina Trophy finalists are out and it includes Ben Bishop of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals and Jonathan Quick of the Los Angeles Kings. The Vezina Trophy is awarded to the goalie who is supposed to be the best at his position. The finalists are chosed by the general managers of the 30 clubs and the top three are the finalists. This year the winner will be announced on June 22 at the 2016 NHL Awards.

Here is a little bit about the finalists:

Ben Bishop- Tampa Bay Lightning

Bishop set a franchise record with 40 wins during the 2014-15 season and came in a little under that this season with 35. Bishop had a goals-against average of 2.06 and a .926 save percentage. In addition, Bishop tallied six shutouts this season. This is the second time Bishop has been nominated for this award, but so far he is yet to win.

Braden Holtby- Washington Capitals

Holtby notched a NHL record with 48 wins. He also tied a Capitals record with 41 wins during the 2014-15 season. Holtby  has a 2.20 goals-against average and a .922 save percentage. This is the first time Holtby has been nominated for the award.

Jonathan Quick- Los Angeles Kings

Quick ended the 2015-16 season with 40 wins and five total shutouts. He also racked up an impressive 4,034 playing minutes.  Quick has been nominated before for the Veniza trophy during the 2011-12 but came in second.




Now that the three finalists are out who do you think is going home with the trophy? Tweet us @beyondbenches!