Beyond The Benches

Calder Trophy Finalists: McDavid, Panarin, Gostisbehere

The NHL released it’s official picks for the Calder Trophy finalists Monday night and the votes are in as Philadelphia Flyers defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere, Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid and Chicago Blackhawks forward Artemi Panarin.

The Calder Trophy finalists are voted on by the members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association and the award winner will be announced at 2016 NHL Awards on June 22.

Here is a little bit about the finalists:

Shayne Gostisbehere- Philadelphia Flyers

Gostisbehere has scored 17 goals and has led the rookie defensemen class this season in goals, 29 assists, 46 points, eight power-play goals and 22 power-play points in a total of 64 games. The 23-year-old defenseman also had a League record point streak coming in at 15 games. The Flyers look to capitalize on this nod as he is their first finalist since forward Mikael Renberg in 1994.

Connor McDavid- Edmonton Oilers

The youngest of the finalists is 19-year-old McDavid. He played 45 games but had an injury where he was still able to come in fourth among the rookie class. The injury knocked him out for three months but his 1.07 points-per-game average was third among all players with at least 40 skates. McDavid is notably the first pick of the 2015 NHL Draft and has racked up 12 multi-point games. The Oilers last finalist was center Ryan Nugent-Hopkins in 2012 but no Oiler has claimed the award in the franchise history.

Artemi Panarin- Chicago Blackhawks

Panarin has had extensive time playing overseas before his May 2015 signing with the Blackhawks. He spent a total of seven seasons playing in Russia. He is the fourth Blackhawks rookie with 30 goals. Patrick Kane is the last Blackhawks winner in 2008.


Now that the three finalists are out who do you think is going home with the trophy? Tweet us @beyondbenches!